• Contributions Wanted! If you recorded audio, video or photographed a Rush concert and would like to help further preserve Rush's history, please contact us at "admin@rush-archives.net"!
  • Notice: Many big changes for Rush Archives are currently in progress. Thank you to those who have been supporting this project, and for being patient with the slower methods of operation so far. A mass inflow of content over the next few months, among other changes, will become more and more apparent.

Audio 22 December 1974 - Electric Lady Studios, New York City, New York [Soundboard]

Rush Archives

Syrinx Computers


Track Listing:

01 - Finding My Way​
02 - Best I Can​
03 - In The Mood​
04 - Anthem​
05 - Need Some Love​
06 - Fly By Night​
07 - Here Again​
08 - Bad Boy​
09 - Guitar Solo​
10 - Working Man​
11 - Drum Solo​


  • Old bootleg releases of this recording reference the date to be 5 December 1974 (no performance on this date), but official tour listings seem to date it for 22 December 1974.
  • This soundboard recording was broadcast live on FM radio, while Rush performed in front of a very small audience at Electric Lady Studios, hence Geddy's quiet speaking voice.
  • Originally recorded and broadcast by WQIV FM radio in 1974.
  • This recording features an early live version of Fly By Night with alternate lyrics and arrangement, as well as an early live version of Anthem.
  • Early pieces of By-Tor And The Snow Dog can be heard during the middle section of Working Man.


  • For some reason YouTube incorrectly flags Anthem as the studio version, therefore blocks this particular recording from being viewed in all countries besides Canada. You can still view the video if you use a Canadian VPN, or alternatively view the edited version here which omits Anthem.
In December of 1974 in New York, Rush received "PERSONALIZED REPRESENTATION" by "Mr. Mouse LTD" in cooperation with SRO Management. Information taken from Billboard Magazine 1974-12-28, pages 87 and 88 respectively. Citation and link here: https://www.worldradiohistory.com/Archive-All-Music/Billboard/70s/1974/Billboard 1974-12-28.pdf
In CashBox (of the same issued date as above) it is written on pages 9 and 18 "Phonogram/MercuryExpects '74 To Be Top Year In History", and how "'New Act Thrust' Steinberg pointed not only to BTO and the Ohio Players, but to the "strong
beginnings in the development of the acts Rush and the Sensational Alex Harvey Band."