• Contributions Wanted! If you recorded audio, video or photographed a Rush concert and would like to help further preserve Rush's history, please contact us at "admin@rush-archives.net"!
  • Notice: Many big changes for Rush Archives are currently in progress. Thank you to those who have been supporting this project, and for being patient with the slower methods of operation so far. A mass inflow of content over the next few months, among other changes, will become more and more apparent.

Video 21 November 1984 - Nippon Budokan, Tokyo, Japan [Audience]

Rush Archives

Syrinx Computers



Track Listing:

01 - Intro **​
02 - The Spirit Of Radio *​
03 - Subdivisions​
04 - The Body Electric *​
05 - The Enemy Within **​
06 - The Weapon​
07 - Witch Hunt **​
08 - New World Man **​
09 - Between The Wheels​
10 - Red Barchetta **​
11 - Distant Early Warning​
12 - Red Sector A​
13 - Closer To The Heart​
14 - YYZ​
15 - Drum Solo *​
16 - YYZ (Reprise) **​
17 - 2112: Temples Of Syrinx **​
18 - Tom Sawyer *​
19 - Red Lenses *​
20 - Vital Signs​
21 - Finding My Way​
22 - In The Mood​


  • This is the last of only four concerts Rush ever performed in Japan, which all took place consecutively at the end of the GUP tour.
  • This is the only known video of Rush performing live in Japan.
  • This is one of only two known audience video recordings of the Grace Under Pressure tour.
  • The audio versions of this concert are complete and is not missing any songs. It's worth noting that unlike most tapes with various bootleg versions, these audio tapes are mostly all recorded from unique audience sources. The "At Budokan" bootleg contains two different audience sources of this show, while each of the other bootlegs are also their own unique audience source. There is allegedly also an incomplete sixth unique source, but does not seem to have made its way into online circulation.
  • The video version of this concert captures an incomplete performance featuring various random cuts in songs (*), and is completely missing (**) The Enemy Within, Witch Hunt, New World Man, Red Barchetta, YYZ’s reprise, and Temples Of Syrinx. The audio for Between The Wheels in the video was corrupted and replaced with audio from See You Again Sometime by the original uploader of the DVD files.
  • Neil's drum kit was one of several pieces of gear and stage equipment that was not shipped to Japan, so for these Japanese concerts a near-replica of his kit was made locally at Tama headquarters. The standout difference is that his drum platform does not rotate like the one used throughout the rest of the tour. Due to this, in the video Neil can be seen with his back facing the crowd when the electronic drums are being played.