• Contributions Wanted! If you recorded audio, video or photographed a Rush concert and would like to help further preserve Rush's history, please contact us at "admin@rush-archives.net"!
  • Notice: Many big changes for Rush Archives are currently in progress. Thank you to those who have been supporting this project, and for being patient with the slower methods of operation so far. A mass inflow of content over the next few months, among other changes, will become more and more apparent.

Audio 2 December 1978 - Cobo Hall Arena, Detroit, Michigan [Soundboard]

Rush Archives

Syrinx Computers


Track Listing:

01 - Intro​
02 - Anthem​
03 - A Passage To Bangkok​
04 - By-Tor And The Snow Dog​
05 - Xanadu​
06 - Something For Nothing​
07 - The Trees​
08 - Cygnus X-1​
09 - Hemispheres​
10 - Closer To The Heart​
11 - Circumstances​
12 - A Farewell To Kings​
13 - La Villa Strangiato​
14 - 2112​
15 - Working Man​
16 - Bastille Day​
17 - In The Mood​
18 - Drum Solo​


  • While closely rivaled with the Tucson '78 and Germany '79 soundboard recordings, this Detroit show is one of the quintessential recordings from the Hemispheres tour.
  • The start of the encore with beginning of Working Man was missing, with the recording starting again during Geddy's last line, "I guess that's what I am", before the instrumental part. For some versions, this missing section had been filled with a segment from the Tuscon soundboard recorded just 12 days prior, thus there is no noticeable change in audio quality or the band's performance.
  • While I typically never recommend recordings that have mix-matched pieces from other shows due to it causing historical inaccuracy, and usually is not even necessary, I felt in this case it works in its favor, particularly due to both being soundboard recordings of the same quality, recorded a few days apart. It helps make this already near perfect recording almost flawless, and works so well that you would have never known there was a cut there if it wasn't noted. With the filled segment only being approximately 48 seconds, I felt this version is nice to have as long as there is a clear note about the edit. To reiterate, I did not make this edit, rather it was done by the person who made a speed corrected version of this recording. Other than a very subtle speed variation, the other versions with the original cut in Working Man sound exactly the same.