23 February 1978 - Manchester Apollo, Manchester, England [Audio - Audience]

By-Tor X-1

Staff member


Track Listing:

01 - Bastille Day
02 - Lakeside Park
03 - By-Tor And The Snow Dog
04 - Xanadu
05 - A Farewell To Kings
06 - Something For Nothing
07 - Cygnus X-1
08 - Anthem
09 - Closer To The Heart
10 - 2112
11 - Drum Solo (cut)
12 - Cinderella Man

This is the first of two consecutive nights Rush played at the Manchester Apollo during the AFTK tour.
This recording cuts off temporarily during the encore chants following 2112, so is missing Working Man, Fly By Night, and In The Mood, then starts again during Neil's drum solo.
There's approximately 5 or 6 seconds cut during the chorus of Cygnus X-1, and a few half-second dropouts throughout this entire recording.
I'm not sure I'd quite say that this ranks among the worst audience recordings I've heard, but overall it doesn't really sound that great at all.
At times it can be pretty hard to listen to, but at other times it seems decently tolerable.

Bootleg Titles:
Live At Manchester Apollo, Nineteen Hundred and Seventy-Eight