20 November 1978 - Tucson Community Center Arena, Tucson, Arizona [Audio - Soundboard]

By-Tor X-1

Staff member


Track Listing:

01 - Intro
02 - Anthem
03 - A Passage To Bangkok
04 - By-Tor And The Snow Dog
05 - Xanadu
06 - Interlude: Stage Warning
07 - Something For Nothing
08 - The Trees
09 - Cygnus X-1
10 - Hemispheres
11 - Closer To The Heart
12 - Circumstances
13 - A Farewell To Kings
14 - La Villa Strangiato
15 - 2112
16 - Working Man
17 - Bastille Day
18 - In The Mood
19 - Drum Solo

This show was recorded by Rush's original soundtech Ian Grandy (1968-1980), which later somehow unofficially made its way to the public.
There's a substantial interlude after Xanadu while Geddy and Howard Ungerleider (I think?) emphasize to the crowd that they urgently need to back up before the stage collapses.

This soundboard recording is one of the most popular Rush bootlegs out there, and for a good reason. While closely rivaled with the Detroit '78 and Germany '79 soundboard recordings, this Tucson show is the quintessential recording from the Hemispheres tour. This version of the Tuscon recording is the best sounding of the many varying quality versions available, also the longest, featuring the complete setlist and the longest of the "Nights, Winters, Years" intro. There's a few pops/skips during the intro, which I was not able to cleanly remove, but it does not happen during Rush's performance or at any other point in the recording. I imagine that's why this part of the intro is cut out of all other versions of this recording.

Bootleg Titles:
A Desert Passage PE, A Passage To Arizona, Black Hole of Cygnus X-1, Brainwaves, Cygnus, Cygnus Gold Edition, Cygnus X Story, Every Soul A Battlefield, First Time In Tucson, Storm Over Tucson