• May 2023 Update: Many apoligies for the extended period of inactivity, however many big changes for Rush Archives are now in progress. This should benefit everyone, and propel the site onward in the most realistic way possible. Thank you to those who have been supporting this project, and for being patient with the methods I've so far been operating. Further details will be coming soon.

2 December 1978 - Cobo Hall Arena, Detroit, Michigan [Audio - Soundboard]

By-Tor X-1

Staff member

1978-12-02 - Detroit, Michigan *recommended*
Buenas Nochas! Motor City
Buenas Nochas! Motor City (revisited)
Oak Oppression

Track Listing:

01 - Intro
02 - Anthem
03 - A Passage To Bangkok
04 - By-Tor And The Snow Dog
05 - Xanadu
06 - Something For Nothing
07 - The Trees
08 - Cygnus X-1
09 - Hemispheres
10 - Closer To The Heart
11 - Circumstances
12 - A Farewell To Kings
13 - La Villa Strangiato
14 - 2112
15 - Working Man
16 - Bastille Day
17 - In The Mood
18 - Drum Solo

While closely rivaled with the Tucson '78 and Germany '79 soundboard recordings, this Detroit show is one of the quintessential recordings from the Hemispheres tour.
The start of the encore with beginning of Working Man was missing, with the recording starting again during Geddy's last line, "I guess that's what I am", before the instrumental part.
This missing section had been filled with a segment from the Tuscon soundboard recorded just 12 days prior, thus there is no noticeable change in audio quality or the band's performance.

While I typically never recommend recordings that have mix-matched pieces from other shows due to it causing historical inaccuracy, and usually is not even necessary, I felt in this case it works in its favor, particularly due to both being soundboard recordings of the same quality, recorded a few days apart. It helps make this already near perfect recording almost flawless, and works so well that you would have never known there was a cut there if it wasn't noted. With the filled segment only being approximately 48 seconds, I felt this version is nice to have as long as there is a clear note about the edit. To reiterate, I did not make this edit, rather it was done by the person who made a speed corrected version of this recording. Other than a very subtle speed variation, the other versions with the original cut in Working Man sound exactly the same.