• May 2023 Update: Many apoligies for the extended period of inactivity, however many big changes for Rush Archives are now in progress. This should benefit everyone, and propel the site onward in the most realistic way possible. Thank you to those who have been supporting this project, and for being patient with the methods I've so far been operating. Further details will be coming soon.

14 August 1974 - Civic Arena, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania [Audio - Audience]

By-Tor X-1

Staff member

1974-08-14 - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (Source Merge) *recommended*
First Time
Thumbs Up Thumbs Down
Two Versions

Track Listing:

01 - Finding My Way
02 - In The Mood
03 - Bad Boy
04 - Working Man / Drum Solo

This was Rush's very first live performance with Neil Peart, who joined the band only two weeks prior (29 July 1974).
The performed setlist is short since Rush were opening for Uriah Heep and Manfred Mann during this concert.

I hate to be the first one to blatantly point this out, and while I'm not one to be pessimistic, I think the following statement is worth noting: The alleged date can not be verified.
Since the recording itself features no mention of location, and there is no documentation of the recording's origin, it is possible the date was falsified just for the claim of historical importance. However I have been told that this recording has been a circulating bootleg as early as the early 1980s, so if it was falsified, it was done so at a time where someone had to have been knowledgeable enough about Rush to know the date of Neil's first performance with the band.

Alex's solo during Working Man features early segments of By-Tor And The Snow Dog.
There are several different versions of this recording, all with different sound qualities and lengths.
All versions are from the same original source recording, but transferred from various different generations of copies over time.
The version with the best sounding quality is missing over half of Working Man and all of Neil's drum solo.
The full uncut versions are all at different degrees of worse qualities.

With the recommended download, I've taken the best quality recording and merged the missing segment seamlessly from the second best sounding version I could find.
The change in sound quality is noticeable, but in my opinion it creates the best listening experience and the best version to preserve of this historic recording.